Like so many others, I reacted with stunned disbelief at the result of the Brexit vote. I think it’s the stupidest, dumbest political decision I have seen in my lifetime, truly a major disaster for our country. I don’t want to be a citizen of an insular, self-seeking, flag-waving country that postures as a world leader while being out of step with its 27 immediate neighbours and mistrusting anything foreign.
One of the strangest things about this strange week is that I arrived in Lomé on the morning the vote was announced and since then there has only been a minimal internet connection here. So I haven’t been able to access any news on the web, express my anger on Facebook, sign petitions or look up the links friends are sending me. I’m feeling curiously cut off from my home country at such an crucial time. I’m purposely writing this at 2am in the hope that it will post. Can’t wait to get back to the village where the technology is more reliable.